Western Union

28. Western Union (Bar M)

237 S. Bridge Street


By 1868, this site was occupied by a wooden structure called the Traveler's Home Hotel. In the 1870's, during the time brothers Chris, Henry and Conrad Hinkey owned it, the hotel was known as the Central Hotel. The Central Hotel was a site of many community events. The Hinkey Brothers even had a menagerie, a collection of animals and curiosities, in the back room.  In the 1880s the hotel was sold to the Nofsingers. This hotel, along with the majority of properties in the area of Bridge Street, were destroyed by fire in 1905.


In 1910, Charles Nofsinger built a new Bridge Street building on the site where the Central Hotel stood. Once complete, it was occupied by and known as the Western Union Building.


Then, John A. Petrinovich leased the premises in 1921, and opened a soft drink parlor and billiard room called The Index. The upstairs rooming part of the building was under the management of his wife. Petrinovich was a former caterer and had operated the café at the Overland Hotel for a number of years.


In 1931, after violation of prohibition laws, The Index was ordered padlocked for 12 months.


The Index eventually became known as Candy’s Club, a name undoubtedly given because of "Candy" Urizar, who was one of the proprietors. 


Today, this building features an ornate bar and a unique pulley system for ceiling fans on the street level. The upstairs has rooms for rent; these rooms have little to no modern alterations. The basement has remnants of other types of entertainment—possibly a speakeasy and/or 2 lane bowling alley.  



Read More